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Checklist for State-Covered Investment Advisers 
The following questions may help you in the completion of your state-covered investment 
adviser registration filing.  Be sure to also read the filing procedures included in this packet.  
Note:  This checklist is for your convenience only.  You do not need to send it back to the 
Missouri Securities Division. 

_____ Did you submit the $200 investment adviser registration fee and a $50 investment adviser 
representative registration fee for each individual to the IARD system? 

_____ Did you complete and submit Parts 1 and 2 of Form ADV to the IARD system? 

_____ If Item 5E (6) of Part 1A regarding Performance-Based Fees is marked, have you 
included the additional information required? 

_____ If you responded “yes” to Item 9A or B of Part 1A regarding custody of client funds, did 
you provide the correct information on Schedule D as indicated in the Initial State-
Covered Investment Adviser Filing Procedures? 

_____ Does Item 1 of Part 1B reflect a check in the “MO” jurisdiction box? 

_____ If you directly or indirectly compensate any person for client referrals, have you included 
the following statement?  “Applicant’s referral agreement is in compliance with 
Federal Regulations.  As set out in 17 CFR Section 275.206(4)-1, and in each state 
where state law requires, each client is given a copy of the referral agreement prior to or 
at the time of entering into any advisory contract.” 

_____ Did you submit Forms U-4 for each investment adviser representative, including the chief 
compliance officer, with a mark in the “MO” jurisdiction box? 

_____ Did you mail an originally signed, recently dated, notarized State Covered Investment 
Adviser Affidavit (Form SADV-1) to the Missouri Securities Division? 

_____ If required, did the investment adviser register with the Missouri Corporations Division? 

_____ Did you include a certified balance sheet prepared within 30 days of filing? 

_____ Did you list the name of the investment adviser’s chief compliance officer in your cover 
letter and include this designation on your State Covered Investment Adviser Affidavit? 

_____ Did you provide copies of the following documents to the Missouri Securities Division?  
A sample or copy of all written agreements the applicant intends to enter into with any 
client relating to the business of the applicant; a sample or copy of all solicitor (paid 
endorsement) agreements the applicant intends to utilize (if applicable); Private 
Placement Memorandum(s), Limited Partnership Agreement(s), Subscription 
Agreement(s), and 
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Gatekeeper Arrangement(s) if a Pooled Investment Vehicle or Hedge Fund is to be 
involved, or any agreement similar to the above (if applicable). 

INITIAL STATE-COVERED INVESTMENT ADVISER FILING 
PROCEDURES 

State-covered advisers requesting to register in Missouri shall submit the following: 

To the IARD System: 
1. The initial registration fee of $200.
2. A completed Part 1 and 2 of Form ADV along with any applicable schedules.

a. If Item 5E (6) Performance-based fees of Part 1A is marked, additional
information is required.  Missouri law allows performance-based
compensation arrangements only if certain conditions are met.  You must
provide a statement with your application that describes how the investment
adviser will comply with 17 CFR Section 275.205-3 and 15 CSR 30-51.145.

b. If Item 9A or B of Part 1A regarding custody of client funds is answered
“yes,” additional information is required.  Under 15 CSR 30-51.100, an
investment adviser may have custody or possession of the funds or securities
of a client provided that the investment adviser maintain custody or possession
in accordance with the requirements set forth in 17 CFR Section
275-206(4)-2(a)(1)-(4).  Schedule D of Form ADV must outline how this
requirement will be met.

c. Part 1B, Item 1 should include a check in the “MO” jurisdiction box.
d. If you directly or indirectly compensate any person for client referrals, the

following language must be included:  “Applicant’s referral agreement is in
compliance with Federal Regulations.  As set out in 17 CFR Section
275.206(4)-1, and in each state where state law is requires, each client is given
a copy of the referral agreement prior to or at the time of entering into any
advisory contract.”

To the CRD System: 
1. Form U-4 for each investment adviser representative, including the chief compliance

officer.
a. The RA “MO” jurisdiction box in Section 5 should be marked.
b. Individuals must have passed the appropriate examinations:  the Series 65 or

both the Series 66 and 7.
2. Filing fee of $50 for each investment adviser representative.

Note: Investment advisers are required to maintain the registration of at least one 
investment adviser representative.  Failure to do so may result in the cancellation of the 
investment adviser’s Missouri registration. 



Missouri Investment Adviser Registration, p. 4 

To the Missouri Securities Division: 
1. Form SADV-1, the State Covered Investment Adviser Affidavit (copy available at

www.sos.mo.gov).
a. The affidavit must be originally signed by a principal and notarized.

2. You may be required to register with the Missouri Corporations Division, or be
eligible for an exemption or exclusion from the registration requirements as listed in
the Missouri Corporation laws.

a. You may contact the Missouri Corporations Division to request copies of their
registration forms by calling (573) 751-4153.  Some forms are available on the
Missouri Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.mo.gov.

3. The applicant must provide a balance sheet prepared within 30 days of filing.  Every
Missouri-based investment adviser shall have and maintain a minimum net worth of
not less than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00).  Others will be governed by the capital
requirements of their home state.  The applicant must specify on the balance sheet the
name of the state that will govern its capital requirement.

4. Designation of a chief compliance officer.  The name of this individual shall be
designated in a cover letter and on Form SADV-1 (the State Covered Investment
Adviser Affidavit).  For more information on the chief compliance officer, please see
15 CSR 30-50.010(1)(G).

5. Copies of the following documents:
a. A sample or copy of all written agreements the applicant intends to enter into

with any client relating to the business of the applicant.
b. A sample or copy of all solicitor (paid endorsement) agreements the applicant

intends to utilize if the applicant intends to use a solicitor(s) arrangement or
act as a solicitor (paid promoter).

c. Private Placement Memorandum(s), Limited Partnership Agreement(s),
Subscription Agreement(s), and Gatekeeper Arrangement(s) if a Pooled
Investment Vehicle or Hedge Fund is to be involved, or any agreements
similar to the above, if the applicant intends to utilize any of the above
agreements.

ADDITIONAL ITEMS OF INTEREST 

• Examination Waiver Requests:  An applicant for investment adviser representative
registration may not be required to comply with the examination requirements if the
applicant qualifies for a waiver as described in 15 CSR 30-51.030(4).  This regulation can
be obtained from the “Code of State Regulations” link on the Missouri Secretary of
State’s website at www.sos.mo.gov under the Administrative Rules heading.

• Renewal:  All registrations expire on December 31 of each year, unless renewed.  It is
the responsibility of each registrant to renew its registration if advisory business will be
conducted the following year in Missouri.

http://www.sos.mo.gov/
http://www.sos.mo.gov/
http://www.sos.mo.gov/
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• Section 409.4-412(d), RSMo., provides that the Commissioner of Securities may, by
order, deny, suspend, or revoke any registration if he finds that the order is in the public
interest and that the applicant or registrant has filed an application for registration, which
as of its effective date was incomplete in any material respect or contained any statement
which was, in light of the circumstances under which it was made, false or misleading
with respect to any material fact.

• If an investment adviser or its representative commits fraud in connection with providing
investment advice in Missouri, then that investment adviser or its representative is subject
to many potential penalties, such as monetary penalties, actions on their registration, and
even criminal convictions.

• 15 CSR 30-51.160(1)(D) provides that any application, the filing of which is not
considered to be complete within a period of one year following the original filing
thereof, shall be presumed subject to the entry of an order of cancellation.

• An investment adviser is exempt from the registration requirements in Missouri if the
investment adviser has no place of business in Missouri and has fewer than five clients
that are Missouri residents.

• Investment advisers do not need to file year-end audited financial statements with the
Missouri Securities Division.

• Applicants submitting a Form U-4 on the CRD system are not approved to conduct
securities business in Missouri until that application receives an “APPROVED” status in
the CRD system.  It is the responsibility of the applicant to notify the Missouri Securities
Division if a “DEFICIENT” status is received upon filing.

• Questions regarding examinations and the location of testing sites should be directed to
FINRA at (240) 386-4848.

If you have any questions regarding these requirements, you may contact the Registration 
Section at: 

Missouri Securities Division 
ATTN:  Registration Section 
600 W. Main St., Room 229 

P.O. Box 1276 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 

(573) 751-2061
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INITIAL FEDERAL COVERED INVESTMENT ADVISER 
FILING PROCEDURES 

Federal covered advisers transacting business in Missouri shall make a notice filing that includes 
the following: 

To the IARD System: 
1. The initial notice filing fee of $200.
2. A completed Part 1 and 2 of Form ADV along with any applicable schedules.

a. Item 2(B) of Part 1A should reflect a check in the “MO” jurisdiction box.

To the CRD System: 
1. Form U-4 for each investment adviser representative domiciled in Missouri.

a. The RA “MO” jurisdiction box in Section 5 should be marked.
b. Individuals must have passed the appropriate examinations: the Series 65

or both the Series 66 and 7.
2. Filing fee of $50 for each investment adviser representative.

ADDITIONAL ITEMS OF INTEREST 

• Examination Waiver Requests:  An applicant for investment adviser representative
registration will not be required to comply with the examination requirements if the
applicant qualifies for a waiver as described in 15 CSR 30-51.030(4).  This regulation can
be obtained from “Code of State Regulations” link on the Missouri Secretary of State’s
website at www.sos.mo.gov under the Administrative Rules heading.

• Renewal:  All registrations expire on December 31 of each year, unless renewed.  It is the
responsibility of each registrant to renew their registration if advisory business will be
conducted the following year in Missouri.

• Section 409.4-412(b) and (d)(1), RSMo., provides that the Commissioner of Securities
may, by order, deny, suspend, or revoke any registration if he finds that the order is in the
public interest and that the applicant or registrant has filed an application for registration,
which as of its effective date was incomplete in any material respect or contained any
statement which was, in light of the circumstances under which it was made, false or
misleading with respect to any material fact.

• If an investment adviser or its representative commits fraud in connection with providing
investment advice in Missouri, then that investment adviser or its representative is subject

http://www.sos.mo.gov/
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to many potential penalties, such as monetary penalties, actions on their registration, and 
even criminal convictions. 

• An investment adviser is exempt from the registration requirements in Missouri if the
investment adviser has no place of business in Missouri and has fewer than five clients
that are Missouri residents.

• Investment advisers do not need to file year-end audited financial statements with the
Missouri Securities Division.

• Applicants submitting a Form U-4 on the CRD system are not approved to conduct
securities business in Missouri until that application receives an “APPROVED” status in
the CRD system.  It is the responsibility of the applicant to notify the Missouri Securities
Division if a “DEFICIENT” status is received upon filing.

• Questions regarding examinations and the location of testing sites should be directed to
FINRA at (240) 386-4848.

If you have any questions regarding these requirements, you may contact the Registration 
Section at: 

Missouri Securities Division 
ATTN:  Registration Section 
600 W. Main St., Room 229 

P.O. Box 1276 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 

(573) 751-2061



Missouri Investment Adviser Registration, p. 8 

POST-EFFECTIVE REQUIREMENTS 
FOR INVESTMENT ADVISERS 

The following outline discusses the most frequently asked questions about Missouri’s post-
effective registration requirements. 

NET CAPITAL REQUIREMENTS 

Missouri-based investment advisers required to register with the state shall have and maintain 
a net worth of at least five thousand dollars ($5,000).  See Section 409.4-411(a), RSMo. and 15 
CSR 30-51.070(1). 

AMENDMENTS 

Every investment adviser and investment adviser representative must file amendments online 
through the WebIARD and WebCRD systems within thirty (30) days of such change.  See 15 
CSR 30-51.160(3). 

TERMINATION 

The following forms must be filed to terminate registration in Missouri: 

1. State-Covered Investment Advisers and Federal Covered Investment Advisers:  Form 
ADV-W.

2. Investment Adviser Representatives:  Form U-5 (must be filed within thirty days of 
termination – see 15 CSR 51.160(3)(B)).

EXPIRATION 

1. Every registration of an investment adviser or investment adviser representative expires 
on December 31 of each year, unless renewed or unless sooner revoked, canceled, or 
withdrawn.  See 15 CSR 30-51.160(2)(A).

2. Upon expiration of registration, any subsequent application for registration shall be 
considered and treated as an application for initial registration.  See 15 CSR 
30-51.160(2)(B).

3. It is the duty of each investment adviser and investment adviser representative to renew 
any registration if intending to conduct business in Missouri the following year.
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CANCELLATION 

If a registrant is no longer in existence or has ceased to do business as an investment adviser or 
investment adviser representative, the Commissioner may by order cancel the 
registration.  See Section 409.4-408(e), RSMo. 

ADDITIONAL ITEMS OF INTEREST 

• Grounds for revocation of registration may be found in Sections 409.4-412, RSMo. and
15 CSR 30-51.170.

• Section 409.4-412(d), RSMo., provides that the Commissioner may by order deny,
suspend, or revoke any registration or bar or censure any registrant or any officer,
director, partner, or person occupying a similar status or performing similar functions for
a registrant, from employment with a registered broker-dealer or investment adviser, or
restrict or limit a registrant as to any function or activity of the business for which
registration is required in this state, if he finds that the order is in the public interest and
that the applicant or registrant has filed an application for registration, which, as of its
effective date was incomplete in any material respect or contained any statement which
was, in light of the circumstances under which it was made, false or misleading with
respect to any material fact.

If you have questions regarding these requirements, you may contact the Registration Section at: 

Missouri Securities Division 
ATTN:  Registration Section 
600 W. Main St., Room 229 

P.O. Box 1276 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 

(573) 751-2061

Note: This outline does not contain all of the post-effective requirements under the Missouri 
Securities Act and regulations.  For further reference, you can view all of the Missouri securities 
laws and regulations at the Missouri Secretary of State’s website: 

www.sos.mo.gov/securities/statutes 

http://www.sos.mo.gov/securities/statutes
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INVESTMENT ADVISER  
RENEWAL FILING PROCEDURES 

Submit the following via the WebIARD system: 

• The investment adviser’s renewal fee of $100 and any renewal fees for investment
adviser representatives ($50 per representative) should be sent to the address provided to
you by FINRA.  If payment is made by check, the check should be payable to “FINRA.”
Write the investment adviser’s CRD Number and the word “Renewals” on the face of the
check.  This is important to ensure that your funds are properly credited to your Renewal
Account.

• Any amendments to Part 1 and 2 of Form ADV that have not previously been filed
should be submitted through WebIARD.

Note: Investment advisers are required to maintain the registration of at least one investment 
adviser representative.  Failure to do so may result in the cancellation of the investment adviser’s 
Missouri registration. 

ADDITIONAL ITEMS OF INTEREST 

• Section 409.4-406(b), RSMo., provides that if the information contained in any document
filed with the Commissioner is or becomes inaccurate or incomplete in any material
respect, the registrant or federal covered adviser shall file a correcting amendment
promptly if the document is filed with respect to a registrant, or when such amendment is
required to be filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission if the document is filed
with respect to a federal covered adviser.

• Section 409.4-412(d), RSMo., provides that the Commissioner may by order deny,
suspend, or revoke any registration or bar or censure any registrant or any officer,
director, partner, or person occupying a similar status or performing similar functions for
a registrant, from employment with a registered broker-dealer or investment adviser, or
restrict or limit a registrant as to any function or activity of the business for which
registration is required in this state, if he finds that the order is in the public interest and
that the applicant or registrant has filed an application for registration, which, as of its
effective date was incomplete in any material respect or contained any statement which
was, in light of the circumstances under which it was made, false or misleading with
respect to any material fact.
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• If an investment adviser or its representative commits fraud in connection with providing
investment advice in Missouri, then that investment adviser or its representative is subject
to many potential penalties, such as monetary penalties, actions on their registration, and
even criminal convictions.

Investment Adviser 
Registration Depository 

The Investment Adviser Registration Depository (IARD) is an electronic 
filing system that collects and maintains the registration and disclosure 
information of investment advisers and their associated persons. 

All investment advisers applying for registration in Missouri must first 
set up their IARD account and submit the required information to the 
IARD System. 

• For more information concerning the IARD System, please refer to
their website at www.iard.com.

• For information on setting up your IARD account, click on “How
to Get Started on IARD” from the IARD home page.

• To speak to someone about IARD, you may contact the Gateway
Call Center at (240) 386-4848.

http://www.iard.com/
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Q: What is your address? 
A: Missouri Securities Division 

600 W. Main St., Room 229 
P.O. Box 1276 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 

Q:  What is your phone number? 
A: (573) 751-2061 

Q: What is your fax number? 
A: (573) 526-3124 

Q: What exams does Missouri require for investment adviser representatives? 
A: Series 65 OR Series 66 and Series 7 

15 CSR 30-51.030(2)(C) 

Q: Can I request a waiver of the exam requirements? 
A: Yes.  You will need to send a letter to the Commissioner requesting a waiver of the exam 

requirements.  Indicate in your letter your education background, employment history, and 
details of your years in the securities industry.  Waivers are granted at the discretion of the 
Commissioner. 
15 CSR 30-51.030(4) 

Q: Does Missouri sponsor an applicant for the exams? 
A: The Series 63, 65, and 66 exams do not require sponsorship as they are State Exams.  

Missouri no longer sponsors applicants for the Series 7 exam. 

Q: Where can I get more information on exam testing? 
A: Visit www.finra.org/EducationPrograms. 

Q: What exams does Missouri require for a chief compliance officer of an investment 
adviser firm? 

A: The chief compliance officer is subject to the same exam requirements as investment adviser 
representatives:  the Series 65 or Series 66 and Series 7. 
15 CSR 30-51.030(2)(C) 

Q: How do we change our chief compliance officer? 
A: Send a letter notifying us of the change with proof of the individual passing the required 

exams and update Form ADV Parts 1 and 2 on the IARD system. 

http://www.finra.org/EducationPrograms
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Q: What are the registration and notice filing fees for investment advisers and investment 
adviser representatives? 

A:  $200 – Initial fee for State-Covered Investment Adviser 
$200 – Initial notice filing fee for Federal Covered Advisers 
$100 – Renewal Fee for Investment Advisers (State and Federal) 
$50 – Initial fee for Investment Adviser Representatives 
$50 – Renewal fee for Investment Adviser Representatives 
15 CSR 30-50.030(4) and (5) and (6) 

Q: Is an investment adviser required to have a representative registered in Missouri? 
A: Yes, an investment adviser shall have at least one registered representative at all times. 

15 CSR 30-51.010(2) 

Q: Does Missouri allow dual registration? 
A: Yes, a letter must be submitted on a company letterhead signed by a principal of each 

investment adviser, stating the following three items: 
1. Acknowledgment of the proposed dual agency;
2. Affirmation that there will be no conflict of interest; and
3. Assurance to the Commissioner that the dual agency will be disclosed to all

prospective customers.
15 CSR 30-50.010(3) 

Q: Does Missouri have a de minimus exemption? 
A: Yes.  Investment advisers who have no place of business in Missouri and during the 

preceding 12 months have had no more than five clients who are residents of the state do not 
need to register under the Missouri Securities Act of 2003. 
Section 409.4-403(b)(2), RSMo.  

Q: When does an investment adviser’s registration expire? 
A: Every registration expires on December 31 of each year, unless renewed or unless sooner 

revoked, canceled, or withdrawn. 
15 CSR 30-51.160(2)(A) 

Q: What do I do if I want to withdraw my registration? 
A: Investment advisers must file a Form ADV-W through WebIARD and investment adviser 

representatives must file a Form U-5 through WebCRD. 

Q: What is IARD? 
A: The Investment Adviser Registration Depository (IARD) is an electronic filing system for 

investment advisers sponsored by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC or 
Commission) and the North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA), with 
the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA, formerly NASD) serving as the 
developer and operator of the system.  The IARD system collects and maintains the 
registration and disclosure information for investment advisers and their associated persons.  
The IARD system supports electronic filing of the revised Forms ADV and ADV-W, 
centralized fee and form processing, regulatory review, the annual registration renewal 
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process, and public disclosures of investment adviser information.  See www.iard.com for 
more information. 

Q: Do solicitors for investment advisers have to be registered? 
A: Not necessarily.  A solicitor (paid promoter) need not be registered as an investment 
adviser representative under the Missouri Securities Act of 2003 if the solicitor:

1. only refers business to the investment adviser and does not render any investment
advice;

2. is not subject to disqualification under Section 409.4-412(d), and
3. receives from the investment adviser a cash fee paid pursuant to the requirements set

out in 17 CFR Section 275.506(4)-1.

Q:  Does Missouri require fingerprints? 
A: No. 

Revised 06/2024 

http://www.iard.com/



