

State of Missouri

Denny Hoskins, Secretary of State

Commissions PO Box 784, Jefferson City, MO 65102 Toll-Free (866) 223-6535 or (573) 751-2783 • Mark only one box as your answer for each question.

- Please note the statute sections where the answer can be located or referenced.
- Once completed please attach to a completed notary application.

Secretary of State's Office Written Notary Training Course

Vame	Name as it appears on the notary application:								
		(first)		(middle)	(last)				
1.	How long is a term of 1 year	office for a notary? (RSMo 486.215) 4 years 10 years	12.	nently bound journa	must keep a record of their notarizations in a perma- al with numbered pages not a spiral notebook or a scan be removed. (RSMo 486.260)				
2.	What is the required n	otary bond amount? (RSMo 486.235)		☐ True	False				
	\$10,000	\$25,000 \$50,000	13.		ving items must be recorded in your permanently				
3.	•	must be the same as the notary commission dates retary of State. (RSMo 486.235)		bound journal? (RS)	Mo 486.260) I year of notarization				
	☐ True	False		type of notariza	ation				
4.	Who gives the notary	their oath of office? (RSMo 486.235)		type of docume name, address,	ent identification and signature of the signer				
	County Clerk	☐ Local Judge ☐ Sec. of State		notary fee					
5.	The notary's signature mission. (RSMo 486.2	must be exactly as it appears on the notary com-	14	All of the above	e ving is required on the notary's seal? (RSMo 486.285)				
	True	False			as commissioned by the Secretary of State's Office				
6.		Missouri and needs to notarize documents for work ling state, they may be appointed as a non-resident 486.220)		Notary Public Notary Seal State of Missou	ıri				
	True	False		Commission #	(those notaries commissioned on or after 8/28/2004)				
7.	of or pled guilty or no	required to state whether they have been convicted lo contendere to any felony, or to any misdemeanor duties of a notary public. (RSMo 486.225)	15		document, the notary must sign their name exactly as the Secretary of State's Office. (RSMo 486.275)				
	True	☐ False		True	False				
8.	dates of commission a	their \$10,000 notary bond that includes their name, nd county of commission to the county clerk's worn in. (RSMo 486.235)	16.	-	the notary journal are the exclusive property ay not be surrendered to any employer. (RSMo				
	True	False		True	False				
9.	oath, provide their off State and receive their	r in the county clerk's office to take their notary icial signature as commissioned by the Secretary of commission within how many days after the appli-	17.	•	ithin the same county, does the Secretary of State's iffied? (RSMo 486.295)				
	cation is accepted? (R 30 days	SM6 486.240) ☐ 60 days ☐ 90 days		Yes	□ No				
10.	considered failed to qu	opear within the allowed time-frame, the notary is allify and must start the application process over.	18.	county of residence	hat lawfully changes their name or changes their shall notify the Secretary of State's Office by amend-n 30 days of such change. (RSMo 486.300/315)				
	(RSMo 486.240)	False		True	False				
11.		tary bond, can a notary purchase Errors &	19.		t loses or misplaces his journal of notarial acts or tify the Secretary of State in writing of this. (RSMo				
	Yes	□ No		True	False				

20.	If any notary public no longer desires to be a notary public, the notary shall notify the Secretary of State in writing of the resignation. (RSM0 486.310) True False	26.	A notary may not notarize a document: (RSMo 486.255) their own signature when they are named individually, or as a party to the transaction both A & B
21.	The Secretary of State automatically reappoints notaries for another 4-year term. (RSMo 486.325) True False	27.	The maximum a notary can charge for notarizing a signature is: (RSMo 486.350)
22.	Which of the following is considered a notarial act? (RSMo 486.330/335/345) oaths (or affirmations) acknowledgements certification of facsimile All of the above	28.	Notaries may not charge for notarizing which of the following: (RSMo 486.350) absentee ballots absentee voter registration cards both A & B
23.	Each notarial certificate should have (RSMo 486.330) State and county of notarization (venue) Personal appearance of signer Signature or acknowledgement of signature All of the above	29.	A notary may charge a travel fee, not to exceed the approved federal mileage rate and may charge an expedited convenience service fee not to exceed \$25 when traveling to perform a notarial act, provided that: 1) the notary explains to the person requesting the notarial act that the travel fee is separate from the notarial fee and is not specified or mandated by law; and 2) the notary and the person requesting the notarial act agree upon his or her fees in advance of the notary affixing his or her official seal. (RSMo 486.350)
24.	Every document that is notarized must contain a notarial certificate, the notary's signature, the notary seal and the notary's county of commission and expiration date. (RSMo 486.330/335) True False	30.	True False Can the Secretary of State's Office revoke a notary's commission? (RSMo 486.385)
25.	When certifying a facsimile, must the notary keep a copy of the document? (RSMo 486.345) Yes No		∐ Yes
	wear, under penalty of perjury, that I completed and answered all the question re of notary applicant as indicated at the top of this exercise.	ns on this	training exercise after reading and becoming familiar with the notary law Date