

RULES OF

Department of Commerce and Insurance

Division 2270—Missouri Veterinary Medical Board Chapter 1—General Rules

Title		Page
20 CSR 2270-1.011	General Organization	3
20 CSR 2270-1.021	Fees	3
20 CSR 2270-1.031	Application Procedures	3
20 CSR 2270-1.040	Name and Address Changes	4
20 CSR 2270-1.050	Renewal Procedures	4
20 CSR 2270-1.051	Renewal of License or Registration for Military Members	5
20 CSR 2270-1.060	Public Records	6



TITLE 20 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE

Division 2270 – Missouri Veterinary Medical Board Chapter 1 – General Rules

20 CSR 2270-1.011 General Organization

PURPOSE: This rule specifies the duties of the board and describes its organization.

- (1) The Missouri Veterinary Medical Board is a unit of the Division of Professional Registration of the Department of Commerce and Insurance.
- (2) The board was established under section 340.202, RSMo, for the purpose of executing and enforcing Chapter 340, RSMo.
- (3) The board consists of the state veterinarian, who serves ex officio, and five (5) appointed members, including a voting public member appointed by the governor for terms of four (4) years each. The board elects from its membership a chairperson and vice chairperson, each of whom serves for one (1) year.
- (4) The board shall have at least one (1) business meeting per year. Three (3) members of the board constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.208 and 340.210, RSMo 2016.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.011. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001. Moved to 20 CSR 2270-1.011, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed July 25, 2018, effective Jan. 30, 2019. Nonsubstantive change filed July 30, 2019, published Sept. 30, 2019.

*Original authority: 340.208, RSMo 1992 and 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999.

20 CSR 2270-1.021 Fees

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the various fees authorized in Chapter 340, RSMo.

(1) The following fees are established by the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board:

/ A	\ Vete			
IΑ	1 1/616	rina	ırıaı	า

A) vetermarians –		
1. Registration		
2. Reciprocity	\$ 150	
3. Grade Transfer	\$ 150	
4. Faculty License	\$200	
5. Temporary or Provisional License –		
A. Temporary or Provisional License Extension	\$ 10	
6. Annual Renewal –		
A. Active	\$ 60	
B. Inactive	\$ 35	
C. Faculty	\$ 60	
7. Late Renewal Penalty		
8. Name Change	\$ 15	
9. Wall Hanging Replacement	\$ 15	
B) Veterinary Technicians –		
1. Registration	\$ 50	
2. Reciprocity	\$ 50	
3. Grade Transfer	\$ 50	
4. Provisional Registration	\$ 50	

5. Annual Renewal –	
A. Active	\$ 30
B. Inactive	\$ 20
6. Late Renewal Penalty	\$100
7. Name Change	\$ 15
8. Wall Hanging Replacement	\$ 15
(C) Facility Permit –	
1. Initial Application	\$100
2. Change of Ownership	\$100
3. Change of Physical Address	\$100
4. Annual Renewal	\$ 35
5. Change in Function	\$ 25
6. Change in Facility Name	\$ 25
7. Late Renewal Penalty	\$100
(D) Certification of Professional Corporations	\$ 25

(2) All fees, with the exception of those noted in section 340.232, RSMo, are nonrefundable.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210 and 340.232, RSMo 2016.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.021. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. Amended: Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30, 1994. Amended: Filed March 10, 1995, effective Sept. 30, 1995. Amended: Filed Oct. 10, 1995, effective April 30, 1996. Amended: Filed Aug. 31, 1998, effective March 30, 1999. Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed April 1, 2003, effective Sept. 30, 2003. Moved to 20 CSR 2270-1.021, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Oct. 16, 2006, effective April 30, 2007. Amended: Filed Aug. 21, 2007, effective Feb. 29, 2008. Emergency amendment filed March 23, 2009, effective April 2, 2009, expired Jan. 12, 2010. Amended: Filed March 23, 2009, effective Sept. 30, 2009. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 2012, effective June 30, 2012. Amended: Filed Dec. 14, 2016, effective June 30, 2017. Amended: Filed Jan. 5, 2024, effective July 30, 2024.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999, and 340.232, RSMo 1992, amended 1999.

20 CSR 2270-1.031 Application Procedures

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the procedure for application for licensure as a veterinarian or registration as a veterinary technician.

- (1) Application for licensure or registration must be made on the forms provided by the board. Application forms may be obtained by requesting them from the executive director, Missouri Veterinary Medical Board, PO Box 633, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
- (2) An application must be legible (printed or typed), signed, notarized, and accompanied by the appropriate fees. The fee must be in the form of a cashier's check, personal check or money order.
- (3) The following documents must be on file for an application to be considered complete:
 - (A) Completed application;
 - (B) Appropriate fee;
- (C) Proof of acceptable educational credentials as evidenced by an official transcript sent directly to the board by the school.
- 1. If the applicant is a doctor of veterinary medicine seeking provisional licensure, a true and accurate copy of the applicant's diploma or a certified letter from the dean of the accredited school or college of veterinary medicine from which the



applicant graduated will be acceptable proof of educational credentials of said applicant for provisional licensure only.

- 2. If the applicant's official transcript is not in English, the transcript shall, at the applicant's expense, be translated into English, the translation shall be signed by the translator and the signature notarized by a notary public. The applicant shall provide the translated transcript to the board along with a copy of the official transcript. The applicant shall still require his/her official transcript be sent directly to the board by the school; and
- (D) Two (2) current, standard passport photos, black and white or color, one and one-half inches by two inches (1.5" \times 2.0"), with applicant's signature on the back of each.
- (4) All forms must be completed and received by the board by the established deadline.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340.228, and 340.300, RSMo 2016.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.031. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. Amended: Filed June 7, 1995, effective Dec. 30, 1995. Amended: Filed April 1, 2003, effective Sept. 30, 2003. Amended: Filed Dec. 1, 2005, effective June 30, 2006. Moved to 20 CSR 2270-1.031, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed July 25, 2018, effective Jan. 30, 2019.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.228, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; and 340.300, RSMo 1992, amended 1999.

20 CSR 2270-1.040 Name and Address Changes

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the requirements for notifying the board of name and address changes.

- (1) All individuals licensed as veterinarians or registered as veterinary technicians shall ensure that the license/registration bears the current legal name of that individual.
- (2) A licensee/registrant whose name is changed, within sixty (60) days of the effective change, shall –
- (A) Notify the board of the change and provide a copy of the appropriate document indicating the change;
 - (B) Pay the name change fee prescribed in 20 CSR 2270-1.021;
- (C) Request from the board a new license/registration bearing the individual's new legal name; and
- (D) Return the current license/registration and the original wall-hanging certificate bearing the former name.
- (3) A licensee/registrant may request a replacement wall-hanging certificate by paying the wall-hanging replacement fee.
- (4) A licensee/registrant whose address has changed from that printed on the certificate must inform the board of those changes by sending a letter to P.O. Box 633, Jefferson City, MO 65102 within thirty (30) days of the effective date of the change.

AUTHORITY: section 340.210, RSMo 2000.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.040. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. Moved to 20 CSR 2270-1.040, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed June 27, 2008, effective Dec. 30, 2008.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999.

20 CSR 2270-1.050 Renewal Procedures

PURPOSE: This rule provides information to veterinarians licensed and veterinary technicians registered in Missouri regarding renewal of their license or certificate of registration.

(1) Definitions:

- (A) "Inactive veterinarian or inactive veterinary technician" is defined as a currently licensed veterinarian or registered veterinary technician who has signed an affidavit that s/he is not practicing or involved in any aspect, administrative or otherwise, of veterinary medicine in Missouri as defined in section 340.200(28), RSMo;
- (B) "License" shall include certificate of registration and the term "licensee" shall include registrant; and
- (C) "Retired veterinarian or veterinary technician" is defined as a veterinarian or veterinary technician who has signed an affidavit that s/he is not practicing veterinary medicine as defined in section 340.200(28), RSMo.
- (2) Renewal of an Active or Inactive License/Certificate of Registration.
- (A) In order for a veterinarian to renew an active or inactive license, the licensee shall submit the following to the board office prior to the expiration date of the license:
- 1. A completed and signed renewal application, which shall certify that the licensee has completed the required number of approved continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.042; and
 - 2. The appropriate renewal fee.
- (B) In order for a veterinary technician to renew the active or inactive certificate of registration, the licensee shall submit the following to the board office prior to the expiration date of the registration:
- 1. A completed and signed renewal application, which has been signed by the supervising veterinarian and certifies that the licensee has completed the required number of approved continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.050; and
 - 2. The appropriate renewal fee.
- (C) If a veterinary technician is not employed under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian, his/her certificate of registration will be placed on an inactive status. An inactive veterinary technician shall sign an affidavit stating that s/he will not practice as a veterinary technician in Missouri and submit that affidavit with the renewal application and the appropriate fee to the board office.
- (D) Failure to provide the requested information will result in the renewal application being returned to the licensee.
- (E) Failure of a licensee to receive the notice and application to renew his/her license/registration shall not excuse him/her from the requirements of sections 340.258 or 340.314, RSMo to renew that license/certificate of registration.
- (F) Failure to renew a license/registration, either active or inactive, within thirty (30) days of the license renewal date shall result in the license/certificate of registration being declared noncurrent as authorized by sections 340.258 and 340.314, RSMo.
- (G) Any licensee who fails to renew his/her license/registration or whose license/certificate of registration has been declared noncurrent shall not perform or offer to perform any act for which a license is required.
- (3) Restoration of a Noncurrent License/Certificate of Registration.



- (A) Any veterinarian whose license has been declared noncurrent under section 340.262, RSMo and who wishes to restore the license shall make application to the board by submitting the following within two (2) years of the license renewal date:
 - 1. An application for renewal of licensure;
- 2. The current renewal fee and all delinquent renewal fees as set forth in 20 CSR 2270-1.021:
 - 3. The penalty fee as set forth in 20 CSR 2270-1.021; and
- 4. Certification of completion of the required number of approved continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.042.
- (B) Any veterinary technician whose registration has been declared noncurrent under section 340.320.2, RSMo and who wishes to restore the certificate of registration shall make application to the board by submitting the following within two (2) years of the registration renewal date:
 - 1. An application for renewal of registration;
- 2. The current renewal fee and all delinquent renewal fees as set forth in 20 CSR 2270-1.021;
 - 3. The penalty fee as set forth in 20 CSR 2270-1.021;
- 4. Certification of completion of the required number of approved continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.050; and
- 5. Verification of employment under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian.
- (4) Inactive License/Certificate of Registration.
- (A) A veterinarian or veterinary technician may choose to place his/her license/registration on an inactive status by signing an affidavit stating that s/he will not engage in the practice or be involved in any aspect, administrative or otherwise, of veterinary medicine in Missouri and submitting that affidavit with the renewal application and the appropriate fee to the board office. The license/certificate of registration issued to all these applicants shall be stamped "Inactive."
- (B) In order for a veterinarian to activate an inactive license, the licensee shall submit to the board office:
- 1. The renewal application, which shall certify that the licensee has completed the required continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.042:
 - 2. The balance of the active renewal fee; and
 - 3. The license stamped "Inactive."
- (C) In order for a veterinary technician to activate an inactive registration, the licensee shall submit to the board office:
- 1. The renewal application which shall certify that the licensee has completed the required continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.050;
 - 2. The balance of the active renewal fee;
 - 3. The license stamped "Inactive"; and
- 4. Verification of current employment under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian.
- (D) The board will issue an active license/certificate of registration, which shall be effective until the next regular renewal date. No penalty fee shall apply.
- (5) Retired License/Certificate of Registration.
- (A) A veterinarian or veterinary technician may place his/her license/registration on a retired status by signing an affidavit stating the date of retirement and submitting that affidavit with the renewal application to the board office. No fee is required and no certificate will be issued. The retired status will prevent the license/registration from being declared noncurrent pursuant to section 340.258.5, RSMo.
- (B) If a retired veterinarian decides to again practice veterinary medicine, s/he must submit to the board office a com-

pleted renewal application which shall certify that the licensee has completed the required continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.042 and the current renewal fee. The board will issue an active license which shall be effective until the next regular renewal date. No penalty fee shall apply. If it has been more than two (2) years since the retirement affidavit was submitted, evidence of ten (10) hours of continuing education for each year of retirement must be submitted with the renewal application. The board reserves the right pursuant to section 340.268, RSMo to direct any such applicant to take an examination(s) to reactivate his/her license.

(C) If a retired veterinary technician decides to again practice veterinary medicine, s/he shall submit to the board office a completed renewal application along with the current renewal fee. The renewal application shall verify current employment under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian and certify completion of the required number of approved continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.050. The board will issue an active registration which shall be effective until the next regular renewal date. No penalty fee shall apply. The board reserves the right pursuant to section 340.268, RSMo to direct any such applicant to take an examination(s) to reactivate his/her registration.

(D) Any retired veterinarian or veterinary technician or any veterinarian or veterinary technician with an inactive license is not currently eligible to practice in Missouri and will be subject to disciplinary action under sections 340.264, 340.294 and 340.330, RSMo if s/he practices or offers to practice in Missouri.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340.258, 340.314, 340.322, 340.324, and 340.326, RSMo 2000 and sections 340.262, 340.312, and 340.320, RSMo Supp. 2007.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.050. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. Amended: Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30, 1994. Rescinded and readopted: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed Dec. 1, 2005, effective June 30, 2006. Moved to 20 CSR 2270-1.050, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Aug. 11, 2006, effective Jan. 30, 2007. Amended: Filed June 27, 2008, effective Dec. 30, 2008.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.258, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; 340.262, RSMo 1992, amended 1999, 2004; 340.312, RSMo 1992, amended 1999, 2004; 340.314, RSMo 1992; 340.320, RSMo 1992, amended 1999, 2004; 340.322, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; 340.324, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; and 340.326, RSMo 1992.

20 CSR 2270-1.051 Renewal of License or Registration for Military Members

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the procedures for licensees and registrants who are members of any United States or State of Missouri military, pursuant to section 41.950, RSMo, who have served on active military duty, pursuant to section 41.950, RSMo. Specifically, the rule sets forth procedures for the renewal of a license or registration, for completing obligations of the board, and for discipline of a license or registration.

(1) Any individual holding a current license or registration that is engaged in the performance of active military duty who has their license or registration lapse while performing such military service, may renew or reinstate such license or registration without penalty by —

(A) Filing with the board a Notice of Active Military Duty on a form provided by the board or by written communication accepted by the board that shall be signed and dated by the individual and shall contain the individual's name, address, the



20 CSR 2270-1 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE



type of license or registration, license or registration number, and the date of active duty activation, and shall be accompanied by a copy of the individual's active duty orders or other evidence sufficient for the board to determine the dates of active military duty; and

- (B) Filing such Notice of Active Military Duty or accepted written communication with the board no later than sixty (60) days after completion of the active duty military service.
- (2) Upon receipt and approval of the Notice of Active Military Duty or accepted written communication, the board shall reinstate the individual's license or registration with no further requirements.
- (3) If a licensee or registrant fails to take any required action or fails to meet any required obligation of the board while the licensee or registrant is on active military duty, the licensee or registrant shall have at least one hundred eighty (180) days after the end of his or her active military duty to take those actions or fulfill those obligations before any administrative action can be taken by the board.
- (4) If the board desires to initiate disciplinary action, administrative action, or any other proceeding where the licensee or registrant is a necessary party and the licensee or registrant is on active military duty, the board shall stay such action or proceeding until at least sixty (60) days after the licensee or registrant returns from active duty.

AUTHORITY: sections 41.950 and 340.210, RSMo 2016.* Original rule filed Aug. 8, 2016, effective Feb. 28, 2017.

*Original authority: 41.950, RSMo 1991, amended 2007, 2009, 2011 and 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999.

20 CSR 2270-1.060 Public Records

PURPOSE: This rule establishes standards for compliance with Chapter 610, RSMo as it relates to public records of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board.

- (1) All public records of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board shall be open for inspection and copying by the general public at the board's office during normal business hours, holidays excepted, except for those records closed pursuant to section 610.021, RSMo. All public meetings of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board, not closed pursuant to the provisions of section 610.021, RSMo will be open to the public. All requests for public records will be acted upon by the board as soon as possible but in no event later than the end of the third business day following the date the request is received.
- (2) The Missouri Veterinary Medical Board establishes the executive director of the board as the custodian of its records as required by section 610.023, RSMo. The executive director is responsible for maintaining the board's records and for responding to requests for access to public records and may appoint deputy custodians as necessary for the efficient operation of the board.
- (3) When a party requests copies of the records, the board may collect the appropriate fee for costs for inspecting and copying the records and may require payment of the fee prior to making the records available (see 20 CSR 2270-1.021).

(4) When the custodian believes that requested access is not allowed under Chapter 610, RSMo, the custodian, within three (3) business days following the date the request is received, shall inform the requesting party that compliance cannot be made, specifying what sections of Chapter 610, RSMo require that the record remain closed. Correspondence or documentation of the denial shall be copied to the board's general counsel. The custodian also shall inform the requesting party that s/he may appeal directly to the board for access to the records requested. The appeal and all pertinent information shall be placed on the agenda for the board's next regularly scheduled meeting. If the board reverses the decision of the custodian, the board shall direct the custodian to advise the requesting party and supply access to the information during regular business hours at the party's convenience.

AUTHORITY: section 340.210, RSMo 2000 and sections 610.023 and 610.026, RSMo Supp. 2007.* This rule was originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.030. This rule previously filed as 4 CSR 270-1.060. Original rule filed Aug. 5, 1991, effective Feb. 6, 1992. Amended: Filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. Moved to 20 CSR 2270-1.060, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed June 27, 2008, effective Dec. 30, 2008.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 610.023, RSMo 1987, amended 1998, 2004; and 610.026, RSMo 1987, amended 1998, 2004.