SOS Home :: State Library :: Wolfner Library :: Wolfner News :: Winter 2009

Wolfner News Winter 2009 

open book logoWOLFNER NEWS

Robin Carnahan, Secretary of State
Winter 2009

Join us for Wolfner Library’s Adult Winter Reading Program
“Getting to Know You”

Earn points for prizes by doing something you love: reading! Register for Wolfner Library’s Adult Winter Reading Program, “Getting to Know You.” The focus of “Getting to Know You” is biographies and autobiographies. Our talented Reader Advisors will create book lists of biographies and autobiographies of all sorts of interesting people. Here are the categories:

The Top 5 patrons who read the most digital or braille books during the program will be entered in a drawing for five grand prizes, which include a unisex talking watch and a Wolfner Library hooded and zippered sweatshirt.

All other patrons who have read 12 or more digital or braille books during the program will be entered into a general prize drawing.

If you haven’t already gotten a digital player, call your Reader Advisor today to have one sent to you. They are easier to use than cassette players and have the best sound quality ever. Plus, digital books do not have to be rewound! Order digital books or download them from the Web, or both, because any digital book you read counts in the “Getting to Know You” Adult Winter Reading Program.

Thank you to the Library Users Group of Missouri for generously providing the prizes for the “Getting to Know You” Adult Winter Reading Program!

 The “Getting to Know You” Adult Winter Reading Program is your chance to earn prizes for great winter reading, so get ready, get set, and read!

Digital players are flexible

Digital players are the simplest, most flexible players to use. All you have to do is push one cartridge into the player, and the book will play. The sound quality is better than ever before, and digital players allow you to place bookmarks and even set a “sleep” mode to tell the player when to turn off. Best yet, there is nothing to rewind with digital books. That’s right: there is no rewinding with digital books. Call your Reader Advisor today to get your digital player. You’ll be glad you did!

Finding Digital books in WolfPAC
Wolfner Library’s Online Catalog

If you’re one of our many patrons who have fallen in love with the digital player, and you want to know what digital books are available, just search WolfPAC, Wolfner Library’s online catalog.

http://wolfpac.sos.mo.gov/klasweb

Your search results will all be digital books!

It’s as easy as that. Enjoy reading your digital books in players with better sound, more flexibility, and no rewinding!


Wolfner Library Staff Listing

Richard J. Smith
Director of Wolfner Library
richard.smith@sos.mo.gov

Deborah Stroup
Coordinator of Volunteers
deborah.stroup@sos.mo.gov

Archie Andrews
Machines Coordinator
archie.andrews@sos.mo.gov

Lisa Stamm
Special Services Librarian
lisa.stamm@sos.mo.gov

Elizabeth Lang
Youth Services Librarian
elizabeth.lang@sos.mo.gov

Paul Mathews
Reader Advisor A-Co
paul.mathews@sos.mo.gov

Brandon Kempf
Reader Advisor Cp-G
brandon.kempf@sos.mo.gov

Ginny Ryan
Reader Advisor H-L
ginny.ryan@sos.mo.gov

Cheryl Hassler
Reader Advisor M-R
cheryl.hassler@sos.mo.gov

Carol Mathews
Reader Advisor S-Z
carol.mathews@sos.mo.gov

Diann Stark
Reader Advisor Institutions
diann.stark@sos.mo.gov

Wolfner News is a quarterly publication of
Secretary of State
Robin Carnahan's office.

Hours
Wolfner Library is open Monday through Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Closed for state holidays.

Contact Information
Toll-free in state phone number (800) 392-2614
Jefferson City area local phone number (573) 751-8720
Toll-free TDD phone number (573) 347-1379
E-mail address wolfner@sos.mo.gov
Web site address www.sos.mo.gov/wolfner
Wolfner's online catalog wolfpac.sos.mo.gov/klasweb/

 


600 West Main Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Main Office: (573) 751-4936Driving Directions