2002 Initiative Petition Approved for Circulation in Missouri
2002-17 RE: Technology Parks
Submitted by: Mr. Steven L. Reed
101 S. Rice # 16
Nixa, MO 65714
Contact person Steven Reed can be reached by calling (417) 832-8458.
Petition sample form approved for circulation on September 7, 2001.
Official ballot title certified by Secretary of State on September 26, 2001.
OFFICIAL BALLOT TITLE AS CERTIFIED BY SECRETARY OF STATE
Shall the Missouri Constitution be amended to impose for a period of one year a state sales/use tax of one-tenth of one percent to provide additional money for the State Economic Development Department to be used solely for the promotion and development of one or more "Technology Parks" in the state within a five year time frame, subject to the provisions of and to be collected as provided in the "Sales Tax Law" and the "Compensating Use Tax Law" and subject to the rules and regulations promulgated in connection therewith?
The costs of this proposal to state government will be funded through a one year, one-tenth of one percent sales tax. This will generate approximately $73,700,000 to be used for promotion and development of Technology Parks. The state will also incur approximately $50,000 in costs to implement this tax increase.
FULL TEXT OF PROPOSITION AS SUBMITTED BY PETITIONER
THE PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION OF MISSOURI
Be it resolved by the people of the State of Missouri that the Consitution be amended:
Section 36(a) of Article IV of the Constitution of Missouri is amended by modifying Section 36(a). The existing section 36(a) is set forth hereinafter with the new matter underlined.
Section 36(a). Economic development, department of---duties of department---director, how appointed.---The department of economic development shall be in charge of a director appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and consent of the senate. The department shall administer all programs provided by law relating to the promotion of the economy of the state, the economic development of the state, trade and business, technology development and other activities and programs impacting on the economy of the state.
A state sales tax of one tenth of one percent will provide additional money for the State Economic Development Department to be used solely for the promotion and development of one or more "Technology Parks" in southwest Missouri. Technology Parks serve as incubators helping create new companies, jobs, and research and development. The cities of Ozark, Billings, Joplin, Nixa, Republic, Willard, Springfield and any other legal city will be able to submit request for funding. Funding awards will be based on the Professional Level and Viability of the Proposals submitted by each City and will be judged by the Economic Development office of the State of Missouri. Each City government may elect to have "do we Citizens want a technology park" issue placed on the local election ballot to show the support of their Citizens and that can also be judged by the Economic Development Department of the State of Missouri as an indicator whether the local citizens feel there is a need for such a project. Before the end of the one-year of collection of the said tax, a foundation will be set up and Labor Leaders, Business Leaders, Educational Leaders, and the public at large will be encouraged to contribute to the fund. The tax will sunset or "end" after one year of collections.
This will allow for the "fair and equal treatment" of the citizens of the state. Technology centers and or zones/parks have been created in St. Louis. Fort Leonard Wood, and Kansas City.
The one year sales/use tax of one tenth of one percent (referred to above) is hereby levied and imposed upon all sellers for the privilege of selling tangible personal property or rendering taxable services at retail in this state upon the sales and services which now are or hereafter are listed and set forth in, and, except as to the amount of tax, subject to the provisions of and to be collected as provide in the "Sales Tax Law" and subject to the rules and regulations promulgated in connection therewith; the one year sales/use tax of one tenth of one percent is levied and imposed for the privilege of storing, using or consuming within this state any article of tangible personal property as set forth and provided in the "Compensating Use Tax Law" and, except as to the amount of the tax, subject to the provisions of and to be collected as provided in the "Compensating Tax Law" and subject to the rules and regulations promulgated in connection therewith.
Section 36(a) amendment. All of the provisions of 36(a) amendment shall be self-enforcing except that the general assembly shall adjust brackets for the collection of the sales and use taxes. The above one tenth of one percent sales/use tax will sunset one year after imposition.