SOS Home :: Records Services :: Missouri State Archives :: Missouri Board on Geographic Names

Missouri Board on Geographic Names

The history and culture of Missouri is reflected in its place names. Citizens require an authoritative judgment about names in their public records and in their publication on maps. The Missouri Board on Geographic Names serves as the responsible board to coordinate place-naming activity between local, state, and federal agencies. The Board governs appropriate procedures for naming and renaming geographic features within the State of Missouri; provides uniformity in geographic nomenclature throughout the state; and retains the expressed historic and cultural significance of such names associated with Missouri's geography.

The State Archives contributes support to the Board as does the State Historical Society of Missouri; the State Spatial Data Center; and the departments of Conservation, Natural Resources, and Highway and Transportation. Federal agencies contributing include the U.S. Corps of Engineers, Forest Service, and Geological Survey. Members also come from several colleges and universities within the state and several at-large citizens. All members serve without compensation for time and expenses.

The United States Board on Geographic names can be found at http://geonames.usgs.gov/.

The Board convenes its next public meeting at 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 21st, 2013, Missouri Secretary of State's office, Jefferson City, MO.

Meeting Minutes

Members

Jason Kander
Missouri Secretary of State
(573) 751-4936
Chairman

John Dougan
Missouri State Archives
(573) 751-4236
john.dougan@sos.mo.gov
Chairman Designee

Christopher J. Barnett
University of Missouri - Columbia
(573) 882-8541
barnettc@missouri.edu
Vice-Chairman

Jane A. Messenger
Corresponding Secretary
US Geological Survey
(573) 308-3803
jmessenger@usgs.gov
jmesseng@fidnet.org
Corresponding Secretary

Henry Sweets
Mark Twain Home Foundation
(573) 221-9010 ext. 405
henry.sweets@marktwainmuseum.org
Executive Committee Member-At-Large

Suzy Wolfe
Missouri State Archives
(573) 751-4236
suzy.wolfe@sos.mo.gov
Executive Secretary

Joe Carter
Missouri Department of Transportation
(573) 526-8051
joseph.carter@modot.mo.gov

Gary Claspill
Office of Administration
(573) 751-1851
Gary.Claspill@oa.mo.gov

John Fisher
Freelance Writer
(573) 888-3620
fisherjohnc@yahoo.com

Alan Foreman
St. Louis District, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
(314) 331-8114
alan.j.foreman@usace.army.mil

Ray Fox
US Geological Survey
(573) 308-3744
rfox@usgs.gov

Dr. Debra F. Greene
Lincoln University
(573) 681-5231
greened@lincolnu.edu

Dr. Gary R. Kremer
State Historical Society of Missouri
(573) 882-7083
KremerG@umsystem.edu

Gordon McCann
Ozark Folklorist
(417) 869-9312
GordonMcCann@sbcglobal.net

Amy Moorman
Missouri State Archives
(573) 526-3965
amy.moorman@sos.mo.gov

Lynn Morrow
Retired / Missouri State Archives
(573) 636-6041

Dr. Frank Nickell
Center for Regional History and 
Cultural Heritage
(573) 651-2833
fnickell@semo.edu

Darrell Pratte
MO Dept. of Natural Resources
(573) 368-2302
Darrell.Pratte@dnr.mo.gov

Tony Spicci
Missouri Department of Conservation
(573) 882-9909
tony.spicci@mdc.mo.gov

Jay Turner
Mark Twain National Forest-Salem Ranger District
(573) 729-6656
jayturner@fs.fed.us

Jerry Vineyard
Assistant State Geologist (Ret.)
L.A.D. Foundation Board of Director’s
(417) 582-0063
JelenVnyrd@aol.com

Dwight Weaver
Lake of the Ozarks Historian
(573) 365-1171
dwightweaver@charter.net





Missouri Board on Geographic Names documents are available on this website in the .pdf format. In order to view or print them, you must have Adobe Reader installed on your computer. To download a free copy of Adobe Reader, click on the icon below.

NOTE: If you are experiencing problems opening PDFs using IE8, please place the mouse over the selected PDF, right-click then select Open in New Tab or Open in New Window.

 

State Archives
Phone: (573) 751-3280
Local Records
Phone: (573) 751-9047
Records Management
Phone: (573) 751-3319
600 West Main Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Main Office: (573) 751-4936Driving Directions